Thursday, February 17, 2011


Nutcracker Suite
1940, Fantasia 
The Nutcracker Suite, a selection of pieces from Tchaikovsky's now-classic ballet The Nutcracker, is a personified depiction of the changing of the seasons; first from summer to autumn, and then from autumn to winter. Unlike the original score, the Fantasia segment has no plot. It features a variety of dances, like the original, but danced by animated fairies, fish, flowers, mushrooms, and leaves; no actual nutcracker being seen. (source: )
"(At Vancouver International Jazz Festival) I heard piano improvisor, Paul Plimley for the first time. As Paul played,  I closed my eyes and had an intense synesthetic experience. When the show ended, I immediately started feeling a compulsion to express in animation what I had just experienced." - Michel Gagn√© (author site:

Pipe Dreams
2001, Animusic
"The purely imaginary instruments perform in their native settings. The designs are fairly concrete. We generally prefer the look of real hardware over swirly, blobby abstract shapes."(official site:

No comments: